Welcoming in 2012

It has been brought to my attention by more than a few people that I haven’t uploaded a post recently. Firstly, my apologies. Secondly, the reasons for this brief absence are twofold: I’ve been on holiday (and enjoyed it greatly), and my internet has been playing up recently.

That aside, how best does one get back into the swing of things? I thought I’d start by laying out my ‘to do list’ for 2012 and a brief run-down of what to expect on Soapbox for the next few months.

Over the next two weeks I’ll be looking to compile exhaustive lists of the ‘Bests’ of 2011. This will be look at a wide range of things from film, music, television, current affairs and politics.

Over the next few days I’ll also look to shine a light on US politics in order to set up the big event of 2012; the US Presidential elections.

With the next few months in mind, the content of the site will largely depend on what happens in my immediate future. There are a lot of exciting prospects on the horizon, so we’ll wait an see…

Let’s preview my ‘to do list’, with a handwritten list from the great Johnny Cash:

 

So how about my ‘to do list’ for 2012?

1. Look after my knee better: I have the left knee of an 80 year old, so I should stop taking silly risks

2. Go to the gym more: The most obvious of resolutions for most, we can all be more fit…

3. Read a new book every two weeks: At University I was quite good with this and the best way to continue learning is by reading. I’m going to try read books that challenge the way I think

4. Get the ‘Art Trauma Therapy’ pilot off the ground: Off all my resolutions I’m most exited (and challenged) but this one. Find out more about it here

5. Stop watching Fox News: I’m a news junkie. I mainly watch TV3 here in NZ, and CNN in regards to US news, but time and time again I’m enticed away by the morbid stupidity of Fox’s commentators

6. Become a better cook: I’m pretty good at cooking Thai food, but I should really improve my cooking ability (and become less lazy in this regard, I know that a pie is easy to heat up but really)

7. Stop losing my phone: It’s a pipe dream, but probably a good idea to try at least

8. Be more involved in my community: There are a million ways that I could be more involved in my community. I’m already involved with a few projects and organisations, but I can always do more

9. Drink less: Possibly the most challenging resolution for a socially active 23 year old

10. Be a more active blogger: This proves that I’m listening guys

One thought on “Welcoming in 2012

  1. I am glad for commenting to make you be aware of what a nice encounter my cousin’s girl had visiting your webblog. She came to find too many things, which include what it’s like to have a great coaching character to make most people just master various extremely tough subject areas. You actually surpassed readers’ desires. Many thanks for rendering these effective, healthy, edifying and even cool guidance on the topic to Jane.

Leave a Reply

